1 meal 1 plate lost in translation...

Hi everyone
I’m new to OMAD since a week and I can confess it’s not as difficult as I anticipated to not eat during 23 hours.
I have just finished James book and where I have the most confusion is the 1 meal 1 plate story.
I understood we must fast for 23 hours and eat for one hour in a four hours window.
Where it is hard to understand is the 1 plate story.
How do I eat a (healthy) soup then ? Can’t I have a side salad in order to increase my vegetables intake or a soja yogurth to get more protein s (I’m veggie). Finaly, shouldn’t it be then OPAD for One Plate A Day instead of OMAD?

I asked the questions on the Facebook group but most have a different vision. Some saying one plate strictly, some others being more relaxed with the rule. For’me the book seems to be clear but I may have missed some subtle details, being from Europe and not fluent in English.
What can leads to confusion, at least myself, is that it says eat what you need to be satisfied volume wise when OMAD is restricting to 1 plate?

Thanks a million for clarifying, hoping James or other Admin can join the post

In any case, i am already very satisfied with OMAD

Ps I’m a tall, large guy and veggie so quite difficult to organise a meal in one plate and feel full

Jimmy Swartz

Administrator
Staff member
Hi @Vegomad and thanks for the question! To maximize the benefits of fasting while doing the Omad Diet, you must also stay consistent in your daily practices. This means setting up an eating window, establishing meal guidelines (such as the 4 "ones" rule), and being strict about behavior outside the eating window.

The reason I practice the "4 ones" rule is for a few reasons:
  1. Structured Discipline – when beginning changes that will be occurring within the body and the mind, having a structured discipline will help you achieve long-term success.